Let's go phishing
This official looking email was sent to me yesterday. At first glance, the mail looks like it came from PayPal. It's from "service@paypal.com" and uses the same template and logo as PayPal. But there are a number of giveaways.
"Click here to verify your account" link points not to paypal.com but some "dsl-x.y.z" link.
And look at all the misspellings:
Unauthorized access to your PayPal account!
We recently noticed more attempts to log in to your PayPal account from a foreign IP address.
If you accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you are the rightfull holder of the account, please visit Paypal as soon as possible to verify your identity:
Click here to verify your account
You can also verify your account by logging into your PayPal account at https://www.paypal.com/us/.
If you choose to ignore our request, you leave us no choise but to temporaly suspend your account.We ask that you allow at least 72 hours for the case to be investigated and we strongly recommend to verify your account in that time.
Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
Clicking on the link brings you to a site that looks exactly like PayPal. You will notice in your browser the the url is for the above mentioned "dsl-x.y.z" link, but the bottom line is that you have to be really careful when you click on an email. Web sites like PayPal will never ask you to verify your credentials.